Motel 6 Customer Service Issues

Archive 3

The following are issues that customers reported to GetHuman about Motel 6 customer service, archive #3. It includes a selection of 20 issue(s) reported June 15, 2018 onward. If you have a similar customer service issue, this page will help you find current, up-to-date answers and solutions too.
I recently visited Motel 6 on Burnside Road in Gresham, Oregon to reserve a room for my family on a cross-country trip. The only welcoming presence in the lobby was Front Desk Agent Samantha, who truly shines. However, I must point out that the lobby is extremely unwelcoming. I was surprised to learn from Samantha that the lack of decorations was due to company policy. As someone with almost 30 years of experience as a hotel GM, I understand the importance of first impressions. The current setup with only a small table and two chairs is unappealing. First impressions are crucial in the hospitality industry, and this empty lobby does not make a positive one. Without Samantha's excellent service, I would have likely left. Sincerely, Kim S.
Reported by GetHuman-garrowki on Freitag, 15. Juni 2018 00:00
My husband's room, number [redacted], was not cleaned by 7 PM when we returned. He had asked reception twice to clean it, but they only provided towels and suggested we make the bed ourselves. This was unacceptable, especially considering this trip was for my father-in-law, who has stage four cancer. Speaking with Angelo, he apologized for not cleaning the room on time, but this explanation doesn't suffice. As a housekeeper myself, I find this level of service disappointing. Angelo even claimed they cleaned the bathroom while we were there, which is untrue. We are seeking a full refund since the issue was not resolved at the front desk. Angelo offered a $50 refund, which we feel is insufficient. This experience has been terrible, especially since this trip meant so much to my father-in-law. Your attention to this matter would be appreciated. Thank you.
Reported by GetHuman791118 on Samstag, 16. Juni 2018 17:48
We checked into two separate rooms at Motel 6 in Hammond, Indiana. Unfortunately, one room was unclean, and after being moved three times, we still encountered issues like a broken door, a non-functional door, and a broken toilet handle. The manager, Ava, offered to move us again and provide a $20 refund, but her lack of apology and understanding was disappointing. She seemed more focused on other matters and was not hospitable. We will not recommend this hotel and will not return. Additionally, upon checking out, we discovered that my sister was overcharged. The overall experience was extremely poor, and we have decided never to revisit this specific Motel 6 location.
Reported by GetHuman-kaylanu on Sonntag, 17. Juni 2018 18:45
My driver's license is at the Palm Desert Motel 6 on Varner Road. I contacted them, and the person at the front desk informed me that only the manager could handle mailing back my license. Unfortunately, the manager is on vacation for the next week and a half. I stayed there for two days and could have retrieved it then. I am now in Arizona, about [redacted] miles away. I inquired if I could send a family member to pick it up, but I was told it was not possible. During my stay, I noticed a blinking light on the phone, and when I asked about it, the staff member was unaware of any messages for me. Returning to the motel would incur a cost of over $[redacted] in gas. While I understand the employee's adherence to company policy, it is inconvenient for me. My current address is on the license, and a simple mail delivery would suffice. The situation is frustrating, especially since I am a frequent guest at this Motel 6 and also at the Yuma location. I am usually satisfied with my stays, but I urgently need my driver's license.
Reported by GetHuman-dcloutie on Montag, 18. Juni 2018 12:47
I stayed in an extended stay room at Motel 6 in Kalamazoo off Sprinkle Rd for three weeks. This Sunday, the front desk asked me to sign a paper without explaining the reason. It turns out Motel 6 decided to stop offering extended stay after June 18, [redacted], in favor of migrant workers who supposedly had reservations made a year in advance. The information was not communicated to any of us staying long term. The truth was that the migrant workers had reservations at a different motel which fell through, so Motel 6 accommodated them by making all extended stay guests leave on June 18th. This treatment was poor, upsetting, and seemed like discrimination. I believe they should have honored the extended stay guests who had already paid. The situation made us feel unwelcome and homeless after being loyal customers.
Reported by GetHuman800278 on Dienstag, 19. Juni 2018 17:23
During my stay at Motel 6 in Englewood, Florida, I encountered several issues with the rooms. In the first room, 50% of the electrical outlets were not working, preventing me from using my CPAP machine due to a lack of electricity. The bedroom also lacked lamps, the bed covers had cigarette burns and stains, and there were rust stains on the stainless steel sinks. When I tested other outlets, they were also not functioning. I had to switch to a second room to connect my breathing machine, but this room had multiple non-working outlets as well, requiring an extension cord to run the refrigerator. Both rooms were not clean, and at 8:30 AM, workers were already knocking on doors offering towels. Disappointed with the conditions, I decided to check-out early and switched to La Quinta Inn in the neighboring town. Motel 6 lost our business for seven days due to these issues, and I believe a thorough cleaning and maintenance overhaul by top management is necessary. It's disheartening to think that the rooms were in such a state for guests to use.
Reported by GetHuman-sscoles on Dienstag, 19. Juni 2018 21:29
At 6:05 p.m. today, I checked into a Motel 6 on Palmdale Blvd. in Palmdale, California. Unfortunately, there were disturbances outside my room with children running around and people hanging out. I requested to move rooms, which they accommodated, but the situation repeated. I decided to check out due to the ongoing disturbances, and while in the lobby, I was informed that I had supposedly surpassed the check-out time, even though it had only been 15 minutes. The clerk even contacted the manager, but I wasn't able to discuss the matter directly. She insisted on assigning me another room within the same motel. This experience was unacceptable, as customers should be able to enjoy a peaceful stay without disruptions from other guests. I am requesting a full refund on my credit card for this inconvenience.
Reported by GetHuman-kadoex on Mittwoch, 20. Juni 2018 03:26
Our experience at Motel 6 in Middleburg Heights, Ohio was subpar. Upon checking in, we were assigned room [redacted], which had a malfunctioning air conditioner and a non-flushing toilet. The water pressure and heating were inadequate, and the cleanliness of the floors was unsatisfactory. After reporting these issues, we were relocated to another room late at night. Unfortunately, the replacement room also had cleanliness issues, such as discarded items in the toilet and dirt left behind doors. Additionally, a curtain was falling off the window. We seek compensation in the form of complimentary nights or a refund due to the unacceptable conditions we encountered.
Reported by GetHuman-marksams on Mittwoch, 20. Juni 2018 05:08
My recent experience at this hotel was unacceptable. While the staff, especially Kay, was kind, the overall experience was disappointing. Initially, we encountered issues with our reservation for a King room leading to us accepting a Queen room due to delay. Noise disturbances from other guests were addressed by Kay and a maintenance staff member, which improved the situation. The most distressing part was the unauthorized entry into our room twice during the night. Despite our vocal objections, the response was inadequate. When I attempted to inform what seemed to be the manager, I was met with indifference. Entering a paid room without consent is illegal, and any future occurrences will result in legal action. I suspect it was housekeeping staff involved as they had access. I believe compensation of 5 complimentary nights at any location is warranted due to these repeated negative experiences.
Reported by GetHuman-alwayzk on Mittwoch, 20. Juni 2018 18:43
Subject: Disappointing Experience at Motel 6 in Ft. Stockton, TX Dear Sirs, I would like to bring to your attention the subpar condition of the Motel 6 establishment in Ft. Stockton, TX, where I recently stayed (Confirmation #333MS66157) on 6/18/[redacted]. As a retired Sears executive with extensive travel experience spanning over 30 years across Texas, New Mexico, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Tennessee, I must express my disappointment with the cleanliness and maintenance of your property. The state of the pool, in particular, poses an environmental concern. Moreover, I feel compelled to mention that there may be questionable activities transpiring at the front desk beyond simply checking in guests. I believe it would be beneficial for you to conduct discreet observations to validate these claims. Reflecting on my past positive experiences with Motel 6, I am now hesitant to make future reservations until improvements are made. Cleanliness and transparency are essential factors that influence a customer's decision to return to a property. Best regards, K. Wilson
Reported by GetHuman804578 on Mittwoch, 20. Juni 2018 20:18
During my stay at Motel 6 in Davenport, IA, I encountered several issues. Despite the recent upgrades, the room reeked of smoke, which was problematic as my child has severe allergies. Additionally, there was a disturbance outside my door with a seemingly intoxicated individual, and upon waking up, I found the floor and our belongings soaked and wet, including my daughter's uniforms which were ruined. When I raised these concerns to the front desk, they acknowledged the problem, and a manager offered a mere 15% discount, which amounts to just $9 off the bill. This resolution is inadequate considering the costs we will incur to clean and replace the damaged items. I am dissatisfied with this outcome and seek further assistance regarding this matter.
Reported by GetHuman-twinws on Donnerstag, 21. Juni 2018 17:10
My son stayed at Motel 6 in Fremont, CA. Unfortunately, the staff was rude towards my son because he is transgender. We had booked a 12-night stay, but on the second day, the maid reprimanded us for having visitors early in the morning. Surprisingly, we were asked to check out while other guests had visitors too. The maid, who I believe was of Iranian descent, seemed to discriminate against transgender individuals. Now, we are facing homelessness until the 1st since we had to use our last bit of money for the reservation, which I paid for with a credit card, leading to a 10-day wait for a refund. It is disheartening that the manager, Kinjal For, displayed such behavior. I urge them to consider taking classes on LGBT inclusivity and compassion, given the seriousness of the housing crisis they contributed to. Shame on Motel 6.
Reported by GetHuman809231 on Freitag, 22. Juni 2018 02:42
I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with our recent stay at Belmont Hotel 6. I had requested a handicap-accessible room with a king-sized bed for our guest and caretaker, but we were given a room with a double bed instead, leaving the caretaker to sleep on the floor. Furthermore, the shower water would pool on the floor, creating a safety hazard, and the sink was loose on the wall. Even more concerning was the incident where I received a warning notice on my car for parking in a handicap spot without a permit, despite displaying the handicap sign. The staff at the front desk were unfriendly and unhelpful, although the housekeeping staff were lovely. The pool area was also unkempt, with leaves and dirt in the pool and hot tub. I believe that my aunt, as a handicap person, should be compensated with a discount for the inconveniences we faced during our stay. Additionally, our request to have 10 rooms reserved together for a wedding party was not accommodated, with some handicap guests being placed on the 3rd floor despite requesting ground floor rooms. I believe that corporate intervention is necessary to improve the operations at this location. Although we had a satisfactory stay the night before, these issues during our main stay were disappointing.
Reported by GetHuman811535 on Freitag, 22. Juni 2018 20:10
During Father’s Day, I decided to treat my husband to a sport fishing trip in Avila Beach. We booked a room at Motel 6 in Lost Hills, but upon arrival, we were met with a strong cigarette smell that triggered my asthma. The first room was unacceptable, with cigarette burns, mold, and bed bugs. The second room was even worse, with more issues like stains and bugs. On another occasion in Pinole after a Giants game, we encountered a similar situation at a different Motel 6. Mold, unclean towels with other people's hair, holes in the sheets, insects, and maintenance issues were just some of the problems we found. I documented everything with photos, especially the mold. These experiences were disappointing, and I believe these issues need to be addressed promptly before legal action is necessary.
Reported by GetHuman-kingl on Samstag, 23. Juni 2018 15:23
During my two-week stay at the Weekie Wachee Motel 6 for work in Weekie Wachee, FL, neither of the rooms I rented were ever cleaned despite multiple requests. Today, when I returned for lunch, the manager confronted me aggressively, instructing me and my colleagues to leave because we had complained about the lack of cleaning, towels, and trash removal. We reported mold on the walls, but no action was taken. This motel provided the worst service I've experienced, and the disrespectful treatment from the manager and staff was unacceptable. I am requesting a refund for my stay. It is imperative that the current manager and employees be replaced to offer better service to customers.
Reported by GetHuman814272 on Samstag, 23. Juni 2018 20:37
I want to address the state of my room at the Motel 6 in Pueblo, Arizona. First, there were no barriers under the bed, causing my cat to hide under it, posing a challenge to retrieve him. Second, there was a lack of hot water in the bathroom sink. Third, the bedspreads on both beds were stained and had cigarette burns, despite my non-smoking preference. Fourth, the nightstand between the beds was unstable, wobbling whenever I placed something on it. In comparison, my stays in Winslow, AZ, and here in Blue Springs, MO, were pleasant with clean rooms, bedspreads, secure bed barriers, and functioning hot water. Regrettably, I will not return to Pueblo and will not recommend this motel to others.
Reported by GetHuman814738 on Sonntag, 24. Juni 2018 00:18
During my recent stay at Motel 6 on [redacted] Eatervielt Ave in Albany, I encountered a disrespectful supervisor. I had booked two rooms for a family graduation event, and while paying for one room, I witnessed the supervisor treating a co-worker poorly. I expressed my concerns about her behavior but was met with more negativity. Despite being a loyal customer for nearly 20 years and spending a significant amount during a house repair five years ago, the supervisor, with a new crew, refused to let me book another room for my family. This left my family without a place to stay, as she had assured me the rooms were secure. The whole experience was extremely disappointing, especially considering Motel 6 has been like a home to me for so long. I hope the management addresses this issue and ensures better professionalism in the future. (Shate Lewis-Eisom)
Reported by GetHuman-tayazapa on Sonntag, 24. Juni 2018 05:57
I stayed at the Motel 6 in Sun City/Menifee, California for 5 weeks. I paid a significant amount for the stay. The motel has issues with transients, homeless individuals, those with mental health challenges, and substance abusers loitering around, creating a feeling of unease and lack of safety. During my stay, an incident occurred where a water bottle was thrown at my window during an argument, scaring my children. When I arrived on May 11, [redacted], I had requested a non-smoking room due to my daughter's asthma but was given a smoking room. The staff member I spoke with initially denied this, leading to a confrontation. Despite my requests and complaints, we were repeatedly given smoking rooms, causing breathing issues for my daughter. Additionally, there were cleanliness issues in the room, lack of towels, and an unsatisfactory response from the management. Upon returning for another stay, we were inexplicably placed on a "DO NOT RENT LIST" without explanation. I am seeking a refund for a portion of my stay due to these ongoing problems.
Reported by GetHuman725034 on Montag, 25. Juni 2018 04:31
Dear Sir or Madam, I am writing to bring to your attention the experience my family had during our recent stay at your hotel. Despite my wife booking a double room with two beds through and requesting a first-floor room close to the pool, we were given a single bed room on the second floor upon arrival. Despite our inquiry about additional bedding for our children, none was provided. Furthermore, we encountered an insect infestation that seemed to be termites in the bathroom. We reported this to the front desk, where we were informed to speak to the manager on Monday, with no immediate solution or apology offered. Additionally, we witnessed disturbing incidents on the premises, including a shirtless man inquiring about drugs in the parking lot and concerning activity in a nearby guest room. The lack of proper accommodation, service, and overall experience leaves much to be desired. I am attaching photos for your reference and hope for a response to rectify this situation promptly. We are in need of a hotel room for three more nights, but considering our current experience, an improvement in room quality and service is essential. Please address these issues promptly for future guests' satisfaction. Sincerely, Jeffry Dowell
Reported by GetHuman-jnjdowel on Montag, 25. Juni 2018 08:11
On 6/23, I checked into a room around 8pm and proceeded to take a shower while my girlfriend got ready. Later, we went out for a bit and returned with food from Taco Bell, only to find a cockroach crawling on the floor. Disgusted, I reported this to the rental office and requested a refund, but was told they were not authorized to provide one. Despite speaking with multiple staff members, I have been unsuccessful in obtaining a refund. The manager offered a complimentary stay instead, but I am not interested after finding a cockroach in the room. The manager insisted that there are no cockroaches on the property and that it must have been brought in, but I am firm in my request for a refund given the circumstances.
Reported by GetHuman-ssmithd on Montag, 25. Juni 2018 20:16

Help me with my Motel 6 issue

Need to call Motel 6?

If you need to call Motel 6 customer service, now that you have the answers that you needed, click the button below. You can either call them on your phone or use our free AI-powered phone to dial for you, get a rep for you, and more.
Call Motel 6

Motel 6

Find a list of many popular Motel 6 questions with answers or step by step guides on our FAQ page below. Or ask a whole new question and get an answer right away.
Call Motel 6Are pets allowed in the motel?What amenities are available in the rooms?What is the cancellation policy?Is there parking available on site?Do you have a fitness center or gym?Motel 6 Customer Service FAQAsk a Question
Was this page helpful?YesNeeds work
Sharing is what powers GetHuman's free customer service contact information and tools. You can help!